Little Coco is one nervous dog

Image courtesy of nervousdog.com

It just might have been little Coco who drew me in to this coffee shop, or it could haven been the interesting name, Nervous Dog.  Either way, I walked in and never wanted to walk out.

The thing I love most about coffee shops is the warm environment and the soothing music.  Whether I need to escape my regular. monotonous atmosphere to get some work done or I want to relax with a hot chai and a good book, Nervous Dog is the place to go.

Since 2006, Nervous Dog has been located on West Market street, near Hawkins.  The shelves are full of local publications to read and the lure of fresh, locally baked is hard to resist… not to mention the organic and locally roasted coffee beans.  Every ounce of my being feels go about coming here – any opportunity I have to support local farmers or businesses, I’ll take it.

Usually, I visit the Nervous Dog to get my homework done.  Doing homework hardly feels like homework when I am enjoying the atmosphere and persona of the place.  (Indeed, I am even doing this blog post on location.)  But, there was one time when I happened to visit on a night when a palm reader was set up in the back corner.  Though I am far from superstisious, I had to have my palm read — and I’ll tell you what, it was a relief to be told that I needed more Vitamin B in my diet (I was wondering why I felt off at the time…).  On occasion, there is live music here, too.

My point?  This place isn’t just for the bookworms or the homework geeks.  The coffee bar offers a variety of entertainment throughout the year – just check out the events page on their site to see what suits your fancy.

“Come.  Sit.  Stay.”  And grab a Harvest Spice Latte (my favorite this fall), a fresh scone, and enjoy the beginning of fall.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Little Coco is one nervous dog

  1. Tibbs says:

    I love that place. I play there all the time with my jazz quartet.

Leave a comment